The complex of building that is now open to the public is located at the heart of the Feudo Pompei, an estate established in 1509 by the Doge of Venice Gerolamo Priuli in favour of Gerolamo Pompei for his military services.
The left wing of the facede is the oldest part of the building (dating from 1615). In 1685 Giugno Pompei had the palazzo. the right wing and the monumental storehouses or "barchesse" built to the plans of the architect Vincenzo Pellesina.
The interiors are decorated with fine series of frescoes of mythological and pastoral scenes by Gian Bettino Cignaroli, Francesco Lorenzi, Andrea Porta and Marco Marcola. The villa is set in enormous grounds of 70 hectares that were designed and planted in the mid-nineteenth century by Antonino Pompei.
His death brought the family line to and end the estate passe dto the Sagramoso family that still lives at the villa and manages the estate.